Ministry Area Inaugural Meeting (Zoom) 9th January

Date: Sunday 9th January, 2022
Time: 6:00 pm
Venue: Zoom!

Message from Andrew Edgar, Ministry Area Lay Chairperson:

Firstly, happy New Year.  I do hope that you enjoy a prosperous and healthy 2022.

We are due to hold a first Vestry meeting for the inauguration of what is now the Wenallt Taff Ministry Area, this Sunday at 6pm.  Everyone is welcome.

Because this is an inaugural meeting, its purpose is merely to establish the existence of the Ministry Area and to transfer, formally, all the officers of the old Whitchurch Benefice to the new Ministry Area.  We will have to wait until April, and the Easter Vestry proper, to vote for officers.

I am attaching an agenda, and the draft minutes of the 2021 Easter Vestry.  The Zoom invitation is below.  Do please pass this onto anyone who you think may not have received this email.  Remember, you can join Zoom meetings by ‘phone, rather than by computer.

All best wishes and prayers, Andrew.

Andrew Edgar is inviting you to a scheduled Zoom meeting.

Topic: Taff Wenallt Ministry Area
Time: 9th January, 2022 at 6:00pm

Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 959 3827 1896
Passcode: 340700

One tap mobile
+442034815240,,95938271896#,,,,*340700# United Kingdom
+442039017895,,95938271896#,,,,*340700# United Kingdom

Dial by your location
0203 481 5240 UK
0203 901 7895 UK
0208 080 6591 UK
0208 080 6592 UK
0330 088 5830 UK
0131 460 1196 UK
0203 481 5237 UK

Meeting ID: 959 3827 1896
Passcode: 340700

Find your local number:

Whitchurch Ministry Area Inaugural Vestry Meeting 2022 Sunday, 9th January, online via Zoom


Meeting opens with prayers at 6 pm.
1.Apologies for absence.
2. Minutes of previous Vestry Meeting 18th April 2021.
3.Matters arising.
4.Confirmation of MAL’s Warden and Ministry Area People’s Warden (in office until Easter Vestry 2022).
5. Membership of the Ministry Area Council
Lay Chair
Ministry Area Leader’s Warden
People’s Warden
MA Treasurer
MA secretary
Representatives from the four churches
Co-options (Safeguarding Officer; Leader Lay Pastoral Visiting Team)
6.Confirmation of the Four Church Representatives to the Ministry Area Council (in office until Easter Vestry 2022)
7.Confirmation of Church Committee Members and Church Treasurers (in office until Easter Vestry 2022).
8. Confirmation of Ministry Area Council Secretary Jane Gill
9.Confirmation of Ministry Area Council Treasurer John Hall
10.Confirmation of Safeguarding Officer
Cathryn Barr (for the Ministry Area and all four churches)
11. Confirmation of Ministry Area Accounts Auditor Robert Hugh
12.Confirmation of Ministry Area Council Finance Committee Current: Rector, Ministry Area Treasurer, Church treasurers, MA Wardens, Payroll officer, MAC secretary, MAC Lay Chair, Benefice Clergy
13.Notification of Deanery Conference Representatives (5)
Current: Marilyn Davidson, Jill Evans, David Smith, Annette Jones, Elizabeth James (in office until Easter Vestry 2022).
14.Treasurer’s provisional report and discussion of Benefice accounts
15. Report on Electoral Roll
16.Report on work of Lay Eucharistic Ministers Team – Kath Lawley.
Date of Easter Vestry 23rd April 2022 at 6pm (venue to be confirmed, but probably Zoom).
Closing Prayer.